Incredible Changes I Noticed After Going Plant-Based

How my health changed for the better

Jen M
In Fitness And In Health
7 min readNov 25, 2020

--

Picture by Ella Olsson on Unsplash

I was in a horrible place physically before going vegan, which I have now been for 2.5 years. Here are some of the things I noticed in my body once changing my diet:

1. My digestive problems improved

I have always had digestive troubles.. the “I needed suppositories even as a baby” sort of troubles, if you catch my drift.

These issues had been dismissed by doctors throughout my life, though my woes were often a topic of discussion during check-ups, to my embarrassment. I was always being told, “Eh, it’s probably just IBS, there’s not much we can do about that,” and “here, why don’t you try this laxative that tastes like school glue?”

I tried every laxative they suggested, including the school-glue one. Did they work?

Nope.

What about more natural remedies, like prunes and oatmeal?

Still no difference.

Drink more water, maybe?

I tried, but to no avail.. though I’ll admit it’s not easy for someone who hates water to drink 8 glasses a day.

Okay, how about enemas?

Surprisingly, this didn’t work either (nor was it a pleasant experience).

At my wit’s end, I decided to take the plunge and go plant-based after coming across a YouTube video that talked about the digestive benefits of eating a high-fiber vegan diet.

It worked!

After only a few weeks, I was noticing drastic improvements. After struggling with this issue since literal infancy, I was finally getting some relief.

Not only did the higher levels of plant fiber help ease my digestion, but over time, the gut microbiomes of vegans and vegetarians become more diverse, which also aids in the process!

2. My rash went away

Along with my life-long digestive difficulties, I’ve also always struggled with eczema and extremely sensitive skin (I need to use certain soaps and detergents).

--

--

Jen M
In Fitness And In Health

A freelance writer, writer, artist, geek, hopeless (and hopeful) romantic, and over-thinker.