It’s Almost Impossible To Get An Exercise Bike Right Now

Amid the pandemic, everyone is trying to find a new way to exercise

Anna Martinez
In Fitness And In Health

--

Photo by Humphrey Muleba on Unsplash

All of the gyms are closed. All of the cycling studios are closed. How am I supposed to exercise now?

With the recent popularity of spin cycles like SoulCycle, there has been a resurgence of the exercise bike. Companies like Peloton sell exercise bikes for thousands of dollars. It comes with a touch screen that connects to the internet so you can ride along with the Peloton classes. The problem is that you have to pay a monthly fee for the class subscription when the bike is already so expensive.

I enjoy going to spin class, but I don't go to any fancy studios and I don’t have a stationary bike myself. I’ll go to the free classes at my gym or I’ll just ride the exercise bike by myself at the gym. As a runner, it’s a good way to get in some cross training that is easy on my legs.

When the pandemic hit, I knew that the gyms closing would be hard. Right before the gyms actually closed, I went out and bought a pair of dumbbells because I knew that the closure was bound to happen. I’m glad I did. What I didn’t consider was buying an exercise bike that day. It would have been smart; I had no idea how hard it would become to try and get my hands on a bike.

--

--