I’ve Left The Gym For Good

And 3 reasons for why it was the best decision I ever made

Melissa Frost
In Fitness And In Health

--

Photo by Tyler Kaslik on Unsplash

2020 turned everything upside down for most of us. Habits, lifestyles, our way of thinking. Exercising.

Right before the pandemic hit I was about to sign up to be a member at the local gym, after having my third baby. I had lost the so-called baby weight, but I wanted to overall feel better. Before I was able to sign the papers, everything shut down, gym included. As it should.

When there was nothing else to go to, I started using nature for all it was worth. I went on long walks, hikes, runs, you name it. And after doing so for over a year, there is no going back to the gym for me. And it’s not because of the germs. Here’s why:

1. Comparison

In a gym, there can be so many distractions. You look at others, compare yourself to them, and before you know it your mind has been wandering and you’ve lost valuable exercising time. Comparing your fitness journey to others doesn't accomplish anything. Doing my exercise outside has made me more aware of my fitness journey, and I find myself being more focused.

In SELF, Louise Green, certified personal trainer, talks about how some of the most common behaviors she sees among women are comparison and the pursuit of…

--

--

Melissa Frost
In Fitness And In Health

Journalist. Mom. Wife. Norwegian in the U.S. Minimalist-ish.