You Can Have Reasons or You Can Have Options as You Age.

Julia E Hubbel
In Fitness And In Health
7 min readJul 8, 2021

--

Photo by Karsten Winegeart on Unsplash

Okay. I am sufficiently humbled. And I love it. Here’s why.

Last night I observed the posing practice of a group of athletes of all ages getting ready for the local, drug-free bodybuilding and fitness competition, the Cecil Phillip’s Classic which is coming up on June 24th. I’ll be there, albeit kindly not as a competitor. However, this is part of what I got out of last night.

Aaron Orton, the owner of Genuine Fitness, who last year assigned my trainer Ryan to me as part of my ongoing program, is now into his eleventh year. GF is a sponsor of the classic, and Aaron told me last night that for some reason he’s become something of the pseudo “home” for aging bodybuilding masters. Genuine is a body-builder’s dream gym with all the chalk and grunts you could ask for. I am here early on Fridays for my sessions with Ryan, which inform what I do at Planet Fitness on my own time. Last night I wanted to see who showed up for posing practice, and get a chance to start integrating myself into my local lifting community.

There is nothing but nothing like showing up at a posing practice to see where you are, where you wanna be and, perhaps best of all, where you can be if you are willing to do the work. It’s hardly solely about body beautiful, but I’ll get to that in a…

--

--

Julia E Hubbel
In Fitness And In Health

Stay tuned for some crossposting. Right now you can peruse my writing on Substack at https://toooldforthis.substack.com/ More to come soon.