8 Important Lessons From My Fitness Journey

Kaushik Jagini
In Fitness And In Health
5 min readNov 19, 2020

Before getting into the matter, a short piece of advice about consuming information via blogs.

There are two ways to consume information via blogs:

  1. Quickly skim through the headings/bullet points.
  2. Read the entire article.

The problem with the first approach is that the information is just as gone as you gain. I recommend the second approach if you are looking to expand your knowledge. Not just for this post but for any information you are interested to consume.

Okay, enough of that!

Image source: Google

Coming from a school where the students were brutally divided into sections only based on the grades, did not have the chance to learn any of these things from the teachers at school/college. However, fitness has been that teacher for me.

While there are obvious benefits if you exercise regularly, following are the lessons that I’ve inadvertently picked up in the process.

1. The why should be clear

Something that majority of them miss out! The clarity of why behind doing a thing is important. If you only start your fitness journey to reduce your weight or bulk up, it’s going to be temporary. You will stop working out once you achieve your goal. There are very few who continue to go above and beyond their goals. However, if the why is to only get better with each passing day, sky is the limit. Similarly, take any aspect in life for example — career, if one does not have the clarity, they might get through but not in the way they would be proud of. Once we get the clarity of what needs to be done and why, how is always the easiest part.

2. Let your younger self be the inspiration (my personal favorite)

I’m sure everyone must have listened to speeches from their favorite people and got inspired in some ways. The next time you need a push, make sure you look back at yourself and not some random talk on Youtube! Now is the time to analyze how you, in the future, would be inspired by you, now! Act accordingly. When you are into 30’s, the goal should be to look back at your 20’s for some inspiration.

3. Always take the onus

The common reason that people give as an excuse is that they don’t have enough time. The habits won’t change unless you stop making excuses and start taking up the onus. Say it with me.. “i’m responsible for everything that happens in my life.” It took me some time to get used to this but when I finally started to have this mindset, I was able to make time for my fitness. I soon incorporated this same mindset to other aspects of life and now I have enough time for my friends, books, binge watching, work and for the travel too. :)

4. Either all in or all out never works

A couple of years back, during an intense gym session, I was asked by the trainer to do a plank for 3 minutes. Either the scale up(advanced version) or the scale down(beginner version). I chose to do the former, because you know, being ambitious. I was able to do it for only 2 minutes and I gave up. When I questioned myself as to why I did not pick the scale down version? The answer is that I’ve always been the all-in or all-out kind of person. But then, my trainer said it’s not a good attitude if you are aiming to achieve something over a long period of time. He said, “first be okay with not being perfect and that itself will get you to perfection”.

5. Every effort matters, trust the process! (my second favourite :D)

I get it. We all need instant gratification. At times, we are left with no results despite putting in a lot of efforts. Trust me, everything counts. 8 years back I went to the gym for the first time for about 6 months and left it because I was not bulking up big time. But those 6 months of training gave my body a good shape. Which, in turn, is helping me now in more ways than I could think of. Back then, I didn’t even realize if it mattered. The same is with whatever you do. Every effort counts. Trust the process! Sooner or later the results will come, definitely!

6. Be grateful

Honestly, a couple of years back I used to be the bug lazing around the house all the time. Suddenly, due to a few medical issues I had to go through a surgery and was advised by the doctor to not exercise for 6 months. And that’s when I missed sweating out in the gym. I didn’t realize before how grateful I were to have the energy, time and opportunity to workout. Once I realized it, there’s no going back! Now I look at my weekly fitness reports and just be grateful!

Isn’t it the same with other things in life? When was the last time you thanked life for everything you have? Make some time, pick a paper and write down all that you are grateful for(it can be about things, friends, family etc). Additionally, question yourself as to how would it be if you did not even have them in the first place.

7. Life is a game of you vs your will power

Every ted speaker or a monk asks to clean up your bed first. But why? Because it is the first instance in your day where your will power is challenged. When you successfully accomplish it, that’s a major booster to your will power and it can shape your day. Similarly, workout challenges your will power throughout the day. To workout everyday, body needs good rest. Good rest needs good sleep. Good sleep requires sleeping on time. Which eventually means you can’t watch that extra episode on Netflix etc etc etc.. your will power is challenged throughout the day. Hence, workout improves your will power exponentially. Resist your excuse like you resist a rep at the gym.

8. Motivation dies, discipline lives on

Never make a decision when you are highly motivated by something. Yes, you read it right! But why? Because it dies!! The blame game will be back cursing why you made that choice in the first place. Hence, never trust your motivation quotient. Practically speaking, if you really are motivated by something and want to do it, wait for a day or two and then do it. How badly you want a thing is determined by what you do when you have zero motivation levels. Motivation can come and go anytime but discipline will stay with you. It will stay with you for so strong that it becomes a habit. This is all you need. It will take you to places you’ve never dreamt off! (figuratively :p)

I hope you enjoyed reading. If you also have something similar to share, do so. I’ll be definitely interested to know. :)

You just read another post from In Fitness And In Health: a health and fitness community dedicated to sharing knowledge, lessons, and suggestions to living happier, healthier lives.

If you’d like to join our newsletter and receive more stories like this one, tap here.

--

--

Kaushik Jagini
In Fitness And In Health

I write about my work and life in general! || Data Scientist || NLP || CV || Learner || Ex-Toastmaster || Ex-AIESECer || Fitness Enthusiast