Lucozade is Better Than Water

How Lucozade got their advert banned in 2014 and what they were really meant to say.

Shamar M
In Fitness And In Health

--

Unfortunately, I have been diagnosed with food poisoning. I’ve never had it before, and if you haven’t either I can tell you it’s not nice at all. If you have been an unlucky soul and experienced food poisoning before, you will know I’m currently being sick, feeling very sleepy and dizzy, nauseous and I haven’t eaten food in three whole days.

Doctor: What are you keeping yourself hydrated with?

Me: Water, of course. But my stomach isn’t really taking it.

Doctor: You should be drinking Lucozade. You need to go and get liters and liters of Lucozade!

Me: How is that better than water?

Doctor: Lucozade contains the exact amount of special electrolytes and other components (he didn’t say this, I just can’t remember exactly what he said) that our body needs to heal and hydrate.

Funnily enough, I followed the doctor's orders, went out, and bought two bottles of orange Lucozade and within hours my energy had increased fairly dramatically. I really wanted to buy the Pink Lemonade flavour, but as it was fizzy and full of E numbers I decided it probably wasn’t a good idea. Once I began to drink it, my stomach was…

--

--

Shamar M
In Fitness And In Health

27. Based in the UK. PG DIP HR Management. Chief of publication The First Time. Editor in About Me Stories.