Medical Technology Has Advanced, But Communications Have Not

A recent trip to the hospital confirms healthcare personnel communications are still subpar

David Mokotoff, MD
In Fitness And In Health
3 min readMay 6, 2021

--

Selfie of the unhappy author

As someone with Crohn’s disease, I have had more than a few hospital admissions. They are usually at night. Some are more than I can control with home medications. A few days ago, I had such a flare-up of this chronic disease with intense abdominal pain and nausea. By flare-up, I mean inflammation of the last part of the small bowel causing a partial blockage. The immediate treatment is intravenous steroids, fluids, and narcotics. But first, I needed to have an IV inserted. After two unsuccessful stabs on both my arms, a second nurse came in and, with the assistance of a miniature ultrasonic vein locator, was successful. Shortly after the drugs were given, I started to feel better.

A CAT scan confirmed a partial small bowel blockage. Communication issues started after I went from the ER to the medical floor. As we say in the medical field, this was the first “handoff.” When a patient is “handed off” from one team to another, medical errors may arise if communications are less than precise. Part of my treatment was to place my bowel “at rest” by not having anything to eat or drink for at least 12 hours. But to prevent dehydration and electrolyte imbalance, intravenous…

--

--

David Mokotoff, MD
In Fitness And In Health

David Mokotoff is a top and boosted writer. He is a retired MD, passionate about health, medicine, gardening, and food, https://tinyurl.com/y7bjoqkd