My Marathon Mission Burned Me Out

The long road to recovery

Sarah Kat
In Fitness And In Health

--

Photo by Ketut Subiyanto from Pexels

Every runner knows the frustration of illness or injury putting them on the bench and halting their race dreams.

In 2019 I set myself the fairly decent goal of 4 full marathons for the year, alongside my full time role as a freelance content marketer. It was a busy time to say the least.

Marathons 1 and 2, Brighton and Richmond Park, went as well as any of my races ever go. Start line anxiety, diarrhea and vomiting are standard for me — and actually looking back, were probably a sign that my busy lifestyle was affecting my health. But of course, fueled with sugary gel and spurred on by the cheering crowd, I carried on with both.

By summer, after a couple of weeks of recovery from marathon number 2, I was to begin my summer training block for the 2 marathons I had scheduled for the autumn. Both again local to me in the UK, Bournemouth (which sadly no longer exists), and Richmond Runfest, which I was most excited about. Being a flat route along the River Thames, I was planning on going for a PB.

So my training plan was all laid out, as was my kit… but my legs and my lungs just wouldn’t play. I was exhausted. And not in a way that I could make any sense of.

--

--

Sarah Kat
In Fitness And In Health

Self help, neuropsychology, small business and marketing. An Elective Orphan and abuse survivor. https://bit.ly/highlights-email