My Top 5 Cycling YouTube Channels

This year I spent 6 months unemployed due to the pandemic and got into cycling.

Jessica O.
In Fitness And In Health
3 min readDec 14, 2020

--

Photo by Coen van de Broek on Unsplash

I bought a gravel bike when I received my first unemployment benefits. The start of my new job was postponed due to the pandemic so I wanted to use my time to really get into cycling. And when I get into something new I want to know everything about it.

On YouTube, you can learn what to wear, what to eat and drink, how to get fitter and faster, and last but not least — how to fix your bike. Now I can adjust the gears and dismount my rear wheel, change the tube or patch it up. Things that I was a little nervous about at first. And I learned that there are many inspirational characters to follow on YouTube.

I myself always appreciate good content recommendations, so here are my five favorite YouTube channels that teach and motivate me when it comes to cycling.

Juliet Elliot

What a bubbly person! Juliet has magnificent energy and spreads positivity in every one of her videos. With her experience in racing criteria, gravel, endurance, and mountain bike races, she has a lot of knowledge to give. From maintenance, fitness, traveling to more personal stuff like parenting her channel offers a wide variety for everyone who’s new to cycling or already a veteran.

Katie Kookaburra

Katie is a British cyclist to who I can perfectly relate to. She discovered cycling as a tool for weight loss and fell in love with the sport. Just the place I am at! She recently got a mountain bike and checks out the trails in her area. On her YouTube channel, we can follow her on her cycling journey as she likes to try new things and give tips on useful equipment.

Rausgefahren

Rausgefahren is a channel by Olga and Michel who have been traveling the world by bike since May 2016. Their channel is full of stories and encounters along their journey. The videos are mostly in German but the beautiful pictures of landscapes and people speak for themselves! What I like most about this channel is it proves that the majority of people around the globe are kind-hearted. Olga and Michel are meeting so many welcoming and friendly people it’s truly heartwarming. Especially in times when media and news outlets are painting a different picture.

Kim Perfetto

Formerly Kim Nonstop is a super energetic fitness trainer who used to make a living as a bike messenger. She is incredibly strong, physically, and mentally, and just a great role model as she lives life to the fullest. Unfortunately, she hasn’t uploaded videos on her channel in months but the vlogs, workout videos, and food tips are always worth watching and a lot of fun!

GCN — Global Cycling Network

Welcome to the GCN Show! The GCN is a huge production compared to the “solo YouTubers” mentioned earlier. This channel is all about improving your cycling abilities mixed with reports and news from the world of professional racing. The very likable presenters try out new stuff (so you don’t have to), go on adventures, explain techie things, test their abilities in other disciplines, and share the latest from the industry in the weekly GCN Show which has become a ritual for us to watch.

Maybe you are also new to cycling and are still looking for good resources. And as traveling far is not possible right now these videos can take you on a journey whilst on the couch. After watching, you cannot wait to get out yourself and explore. During this pandemic, I found so many new and beautiful places around my home and cycling is what’s keeping me sane right now. ☺️

You just read another post from In Fitness And In Health: a health and fitness community dedicated to sharing knowledge, lessons, and suggestions to living happier, healthier lives.

If you’d like to join our newsletter and receive more stories like this one, tap here.

--

--