My Wife and I Quit Alcohol for 6 Weeks — The Results Were Surprising

Here are four significant changes we discovered

Sean Barker, CPT, PN2
In Fitness And In Health
6 min readMar 23, 2024

--

Photo by Sérgio Alves Santos on Unsplash

I have never been a fan of New Year’s resolutions unless it’s something you can stick with for years. However, this year, my wife and I decided to give “Dry January” a try.

We didn’t plan it, preach it from the rooftops or post it on social media. It was more of a quiet quitting by walking away from the liquor cabinet for a while after the holidays.

Although 2024 is a leap year, starting this commitment in its first month was not a giant leap for us. We always return to healthy eating habits and exercise after Christmas and are consistent for most of the year.

As 45-year-olds who value our health, my wife and I may have a glass of wine with dinner one night a week or enjoy some spirits with family or friends on the weekends.

However, with our busy work and family life of two kids, we have reduced our alcohol consumption compared to years past. We now only indulge in a few more drinks on special occasions or vacations.

As a health and wellness coach, I always try to lead by example and coach from personal experience, recognizing that it’s easier to preach healthy habits than to practice them.

--

--

Sean Barker, CPT, PN2
In Fitness And In Health

Award-winning fitness coach and best-selling author of The Easy Eating Diet and cookbook. Apply for Online Custom FIT Coaching here: https://bit.ly/3wzBhHH