Noom Works

But you have to know some tricks

Lisa Alexander
In Fitness And In Health

--

Photo by DEVN on Unsplash

Two years ago I lost 17 pounds in four months using the Noom app. But, here’s the deal: the Noom app sucks. You have to know how to work the system.

I signed up for Noom because a young friend had lost 60 pounds using it, and she looked great. She told me that Noom uses coaching and peer support to help you lose weight, along with calorie tracking.

I had tried tracking calories in the past, with free apps like Lose It! and My Fitness Pal, but after two or three weeks, I would give up. There was no accountability, and I just didn’t have the motivation to log my food.

I was excited to start using Noom, but the app itself has many deficiencies.

Eventually I learned a few things that helped me reach my goal weight.

Noom “Coaching” is a Joke

One of the things you pay for with the Noom app is to have a “personal coach” who checks in on you once a week. However, these coaches are not looking at anything you're doing. Once a week, usually five days late, a coach would check in on me. He or she would always ask me the same questions: “How’s it going? What are your goals for the week?” Eventually I began suspecting bots.

--

--

Lisa Alexander
In Fitness And In Health

Former English professor, full-time yoga teacher, failed Greek Orthodox. Searching for wisdom, clarity, and a fresh bag of circus peanuts.