One Of The Most Underrated Exercises I See No One Doing

It's highly functional, boosts endurance, and builds full-body strength

Neeramitra Reddy
In Fitness And In Health
5 min readApr 30, 2021

--

Image by Taco Fleur from Pixabay

I lug the 70 lb dumbbells, drop them in front of me, brace myself, and set the timer. As I lift them and walk around the gym in circles, I get weird stares. “Why’s he just carrying them around instead of working out with them?”, they must be thinking.

But little do they know I was indeed working out, performing one of the hardest and most beneficial exercises there is. As I feel my forearms burning, upper back fatiguing, and grip failing, I drop the dumbbells.

As I wipe away the heavy perspiration and chug some water, I wonder, “This is such a taxing and effective exercise yet I don’t see a single soul doing it.” Despite being quite famous in strength and conditioning circles, this exercise is relatively unknown to the average fitness enthusiast.

So without further ado, let me present to you.

The Farmer’s Walk

Picking up something and walking from point A to point B is one of the most normal things we humans do. Be it carrying shopping bags, a suitcase, or a luggage bag.

Famous US strength coach Dan John rates it the #1 exercise in terms…

--

--

Neeramitra Reddy
In Fitness And In Health

Truth See(k)er ✦ 3M+ Views ✦ Soulful 360° Self-Development✦ Building manximize.com ✦ 📩 neeramitra.writes@gmail.com