Poor Posture: Today’s Epidemic During a Pandemic

René Phongam, DPT
In Fitness And In Health
8 min readOct 9, 2020

--

Photo by madison lavern on Unsplash

“Stand up straight and quit slouching!”

I struggled with poor posture as a teenager. My 7th grade school photo is awkward. Not awkward because of my double popped collar or braces but because I was slumped over.

My mom advised me to improve my posture frequently growing up. I forced myself to stand up straighter the few times I could recall. The effort I placed into maintaining an upright posture was futile because I quickly and inevitably found myself slumped over again.

I questioned why I could not hold myself up without being corrected by an adult. I was convinced my poor posture was due to bad habit and lack of effort. I believed if I became more aware of my body I could train myself to have an outstanding posture by “correcting” myself.

Poor Posture: Today’s Epidemic During a Pandemic

The slumped position commonly seen in the elderly is now regularly seen in children, teenagers, and young adults at an alarming rate. Mobile device and screen time have significantly increased and resulted in more time assumed in a bad postures.

Regardless of your age, you are probably hunched over a screen if you are reading this sentence right now.

--

--

René Phongam, DPT
In Fitness And In Health

Physical therapist and dreamer sharing knowledge about fitness, health, and personal development. Find me on Twitter- https://twitter.com/RenePhongam