Saturdays are for Shakshuka

Savory Israeli-inspired breakfast recipe to kickoff your weekend

Olivia Hogan
In Fitness And In Health
3 min readSep 12, 2020

--

Photo by Sara Dubler on Unsplash

A trip to Israel back in 2018 sparked my obsession with this savory, comfort food. I’d traveled thousands of miles from Penn State University to report on arts and culture and take in the sights, smells, and tastes of Jerusalem, Tel Aviv and Ella Valley.

So much of what I love about traveling to a new country is meeting people along the way to get a more personal sense of their culture and traditions.

I don’t speak Hebrew or Arabic so while I was in Israel I wasn’t able to chat with everyone I encountered. But I could learn more about the fabric of their culture through the music, art, and possibly most of all — the incredible food they had to offer.

The standout being — Shakshuka. It is said that the dish possibly originated in a number of places; Yemen, the Ottoman Empire, or North African cultures and made its way to Israel. Since, Israelis, Palestinians and Egyptians have crafted variations of Shashuka.

Photo by

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 Red Bell Pepper Diced
  • 1/2 White Onion Diced
  • 1 Can of Diced Tomatoes
  • 5 Eggs (Or the amount of your choosing)
  • Feta Cheese
  • Handful of Chopped Cilantro
  • Paprika
  • Chili Powder
  • Cumin
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil

INSTRUCTIONS:

  • Dice 1 Red Bell Pepper and 1/2 White Onion
  • Drizzle Extra Virgin Olive Oil in a pan on low to medium heat
  • Allow diced peppers and onion to sauté until diced onion reaches a translucent color
  • Add 1 can of diced tomatoes
Photo by me
  • Season with paprika, chili powder and cumin
Photo by me
  • Stir and crush the tomatoes with a spoon
  • Once you’ve allowed the veggies to simmer, create little “nests” for your eggs
  • Crack 1 egg into each “nest”
Photo by me
  • Sprinkle feta cheese on top
  • Cover the pan and allow the ingredients to cook for 5–8 minutes, depending on how you’d like your eggs to be cooked (5 minutes = over easy, 8 = over hard)
  • Uncover your pan and top your Shakshuka with a handful of chopped cilantro
  • Enjoy!
Photo by me

Share your photos of this recipe with me on Instagram @oliviasgottaeat!

--

--