Six of The Worst Myths to Pervade the Fitness Industry

#2. To lose belly fat, do crunches

Neeramitra Reddy
In Fitness And In Health
7 min readFeb 8, 2021

--

I first stepped foot in a gym as a skinny fat teenager that knew nothing about anything when it came to fitness. It has been more than four years since then and my fitness journey has seen me make a ton of mistakes and learn a ton more.

With the sheer amount of misinformation or “bro-science” on the internet and in the fitness industry, it’s super easy to go the wrong route and make mistakes.

In fact, more than 99% of “commonplace” information regarding fitness is inaccurate. I want to share seven of the worst myths ever to pervade the fitness industry.

I will also link relevant research throughout the article to support my claims.

1. High Reps with Light Weights to Cut, Low Reps with Heavy Weights to Bulk

The first time I decided to lose weight, my “trainer” advised me to use light weights and high reps. To quote him, “High reps with light weights tone the muscle while low reps with heavy weights make it bulky”.

Absolute freaking bullshit.

Muscle is muscle. “Lean” or “bulky” muscles are the same muscles with the only difference being the amount of surrounding fat.

--

--