Six Ways 2020 Has Impacted Me Positively

Natalya Jones
In Fitness And In Health
3 min readJan 5, 2021
Photo by Hean Prinsloo on Unsplash

The tumultuous 2020 has taken a huge toll on the economy, job market, travel industry, and every other aspect of our lives prior. For those fortunate enough to not lose loved ones, their job or home, the best case scenario was being driven stir crazy from stay at home orders and those they were living with.

However, in a very odd twist of fate, I find myself on the other end of the scale: I’m thriving and improving day by day. I have been able to use this time to reevaluate my goals, better myself, and examine relationships with a clearer lens. I can honestly say that this year has been one of the greatest for me, producing the best version of myself yet. Here are some areas 2020 has impacted me positively.

Better Finances

With less travel, driving, and socializing in the picture, I’m not spending money on gas, restaurants, and other unnecessary expenses. In fact, there is no choice but to save money. Entertainment nowadays consists of reading books from the library, free workouts, and socially distanced outdoor get togethers. Gone from the budget are valet tickets, expensive meals, and tolls. If the best things in life are free, I’m definitely getting more bang for my (nonexistent) buck.

Less Stress

Pre-2020 was all about rushing through a shower post-run, scarfing down breakfast, rushing to work, spending eight hours there, leaving work to sit in traffic, scarfing down dinner, cleaning dishes left over from breakfast plus dinner, then getting a fitful night’s rest, just to do it all over again for the next four days. Currently, I’m getting eight hours of sleep a night, hitting my morning workouts, and enjoying a nice breakfast with a mug of hot (not room temp) coffee. I eat, I sip, and I relish my food before starting my workday at home.

Another perk: if something does inevitably cause me angst, I am able to decompress at home instead of putting on a brave face in public.

Accomplishing Goals

With no weekend plans thanks to stay at home orders, I was finally able to cross items off my forever “to-do” list. This included decluttering clothes, old photo albums, pictures on my phone/laptop/social media accounts, old books, and more. I also updated my blog, which was much needed. With more time and focus, I was able to get these tasks done in one fell swoop as opposed to completing them in a year or not at all.

Eating Healthier

I’ve always had a relatively healthy diet, but with my kitchen at my disposal, I’m eating even healthier. Fruit smoothies, raw veggies with hummus, and Greek yogurt have been my go-to snacks lately. I’m also not tempted by in-office treats or vending machines.

More Time

Less commuting has freed up more time in the day. I have increased “me” time and reading a book or watching a movie on a weeknight is an attainable want instead of a faraway wish. Working from home also means less laundry, since I can repeat outfits without worrying about being judged. Thus, less laundry = more time relaxing. Self-care, amiright?

Better Hair and Skin

I have extremely sensitive skin, and often wore makeup, albeit light coverage, to even out the texture and hide imperfections. Working at home allows me to go barefaced, and I haven’t seen my skin this clear since the fifth grade. Additionally, I now only wash my hair once a week, resulting in softer and healthier locks.

You just read another post from In Fitness And In Health: a health and fitness community dedicated to sharing knowledge, lessons, and suggestions to living happier, healthier lives.

If you’d like to join our newsletter and receive more stories like this one, tap here.

--

--

Natalya Jones
In Fitness And In Health

Natalya’s work has been published in Shondaland, HuffPost, Elite Daily, ACTIVE, and more. Visit JonesingForJournals.com.