Tap Water Is Poisoning You

The harmful substances lurking in your drinking water and how you can get rid of them

Madison Schott
In Fitness And In Health
7 min readSep 8, 2022

--

Photo by David Becker on Unsplash

The other night, my pop-pop was in town, so we decided to enjoy a nice dinner outside at a local restaurant. I bring my hydro flask everywhere to ensure I always have clean, filtered water. I told him he could have the glass of water that the waitress brought us and he asked me what I had in my bottle. When I told him it was water he said, “water is just water right?”.

While I laughed, I didn’t want to go into all the intricacies of how all water is not “just water”. There’s surprisingly a lot to it, especially when it comes to our tap water. I used to never understand the people who would spend $6 more on a bottle of “flat” water for the table until I realized just how toxic tap water is. Now, I carry my own water with me everywhere, even to nice restaurants.

Toxicity of tap water

Let’s start with why tap water is considered toxic.

Fluoride

If you didn’t know, starting in the 1950s, fluoride was added to the water supply in the United States in hope of preventing tooth decay. However, there is no research proving this improves our dental health as compared to other countries. The rates of tooth decay improved…

--

--

Madison Schott
In Fitness And In Health

Analytics Engineer @ ConvertKit, author of the Learn Analytics Engineering newsletter and The ABCS of Analytics Engineering ebook, health & wellness enthusiast