Ten Rules For Life

A trick to answering the difficult question of identity: “Who am I?”

Lisa Verhoeven
In Fitness And In Health
5 min readAug 15, 2021

--

Photo by Jonny Gios on Unsplash

Who am I? One of the most difficult questions in life. There is no black and white in this area and no abstract answer. There is no finite finish line because the answer changes as you go through life. It is a process and journey with a goal that varies over time. During this process, you will identify some norms and values that are close to the answer you are looking for.

Norms and values are key to defining who you are and who you identify yourself to be. Our identity evolves. We become a person and then the next year we can be someone totally different. That is good. It means we are constantly improving and learning. However, it can become difficult in defining who you are.

An easier way to approach the question of identity is by analyzing your norms and values. You have to find the things in life that are important to you. Therefore, I created my list of 10 rules for life to come closer to my own identity.

#1 Be extraordinary

I find that every single of us is a miracle in itself, at least when it comes to probability of existence. The chances of life being created on earth are little and if you add evolution, wars and the survival of your parents to the equation, the chances decrease even more significantly. The likelihood of you and me being here is a lot less in our favour than winning the lottery.

The conclusion can be drawn from this that, life is an extraordinary gift. So, if we have this amazing opportunity, called life, then why choose ordinary. As Elon Musk said: “I think ordinary people can choose to be extraordinary.” I like to go one step further and think it is vital to choose to be extraordinary.

#2 Thank You, Next

A song from Ariana Grande, which demonstrates the importance of gratitude and growth. Humans require a balance between control and excitement. Control of life is obtained with gratitude and by being happy with what we have and are. The excitement is present in the growth mindset with which we try to build upon the controlled situation.

#3 Loyalty is a two-way street

Relationships are important; your network equals your net worth. In some situations, you might have to invest a lot of energy into a relationship because you can see the possible return this might have. This could be a mentor that you want to have on your side or a business relation that you see the potential for the future. However, sometimes relationships can also be unbalanced and you are not getting anything in return then the loyalty is not coming from both ways and it is better to give in and let go of that person.

#4 Life is a game, play to win

By viewing life as a game, you can approach it from a more playful perspective. Additionally, a game brings a competitive edge along. By using this viewpoint life can become a lot more fun and successful for you. Personally, I use it as my drive to study hard because I see a test as a game that I can win and have fun with. The same goes of course for sports or your professional career.

#5 Smile and be kind

It is so easy to just smile and be kind to others but the results can be tremendous. You can make someone’s day by complimenting them. As a positive side effect, you will generate a positive environment, not only for others but for yourself as well.

#6 Serve others

When accumulating knowledge, experience and money there is no point in keeping it all to yourself. For me, the purpose of existence is serving others with everything you gain. I have obtained some knowledge over the past two years about identity and habits, so I started a podcast, blog, and YouTube channel to share my ideas. Serving and helping others is one of the more satisfying actions you can take

#7 Keep moving

On the literal side of this, I like to physically keep moving. Sometimes it is very tempting to sit on the couch after studying a full day. However, from the experience of being a student-athlete, I have noticed that moving physically is a way to mentally relax and boost your energy levels throughout the day. Next to that, I think moving in life, in general, is important. Never stay too long in a certain place in your life. I always aim for the next step in my journey and I am always seeking growth.

#8 No fear

Fear does not get you anywhere. One time I had the opportunity to become a professional soccer player but I had doubts. I was afraid to fail. I was not ready to go all in. And I don’t fully regret it because both choices had their upsides in the end, but I do regret using fear as part of the decision making. Fear does not bring you anywhere in life. Letting fear decide for you can only result in regret later in life.

#9 Knowledge is your power

I have never liked reading until about 18 months ago. My life took a turn and I picked up reading. I learned so much in the first 6 months and I realized the importance of continuous learning in life. I am still in school but school is not all the education you need in life. There is more knowledge to obtain in this world than you can ever imagine so I try to learn as much as I can.

#10 Adapt and accept change

The world is changing faster and faster by the minute. Moore already predicted this with Moores Law when it comes to transistors. Our surroundings are changing exponentially fast and without accepting this happening and adapting, you cannot survive in your field of expertise, relationships, and life.

Creating this list helped a lot in the process of finding an answer to “Who am I?” It helped me to think about my norms and values and the daily actions that are important to me. Maybe you related to one of these ten points. Whether you did or not, I recommend making your own list to start getting closer to your identity.

You just read another post from In Fitness And In Health: a health and fitness community dedicated to sharing knowledge, lessons, and suggestions to living happier, healthier lives.

If you’d like to join our newsletter and receive more stories like this one, tap here.

--

--

Lisa Verhoeven
In Fitness And In Health

Computer Scientist and Mathematician, podcast host and athlete interested in personal development, finance and the world around us.