The Amazing Science Behind Pilates

Why you should give it a try. I did, and fell for it.

Katarzyna Portka
In Fitness And In Health

--

Photo by Marta Wave from Pexels

In a world of the constant fight for our attention, where we are glued to our phones, bent over our desks, or stretched on the couch in front of the TV, working on strengthening our core is the key to improving posture, confidence, and overall strength.

There are many avenues through which you can achieve the above-mentioned benefits. However, let me tell you about my way.

I have obviously heard about Pilates a long time ago, occasionally have given it a try. However, I have never fully dedicated my time and mind to embrace it fully. Until last spring, I have decided to switch from yoga to Pilates and sometimes combine both.

What Pilates is all about

Exercises are designed to increase muscle strength and endurance, as well as improve flexibility, posture, and balance.

Joseph Pilates created the method in the 1920s as a way to rehabilitate bedridden soldiers during World War I. Nevertheless, the first Pilates clients were ballet dancers wanting to improve their posture and control their movements.

The basis of Pilates lies in controlling our core actions.

--

--

Katarzyna Portka
In Fitness And In Health

Hungry for advice? I am here for you. I write about small habits that lead to monumental changes.