The Anniversary of The Night That I Want to Forget

How getting broken can make you stronger

Sean Barker, CPT, PN2
In Fitness And In Health
6 min readFeb 8, 2024

--

Photo by PaaZ PG on Unsplash

There are certain anniversaries worth remembering, such as weddings or the beginnings of a business, and others that we choose to honour, like cultural events or the passing of loved ones.

But there are also ones that we want to forget…

February 7th, 2024, marked the one-year anniversary since I fell and broke my arm in two places while skating with my son.

This injury has been the most significant physical setback I have ever had to endure and battle back from.

However, I’m quite aware that it pales in comparison to some people who have to suffer through a lot worse dramatic injuries or health challenges.

But for anyone suffering an injury or struggling through a health challenge right now, I want to share the three biggest lessons I learned over the past year and hope it helps you rise up stronger.

1. Recovery takes longer than you expect

After spending six weeks with my arm in a cast last winter that was debilitating and frustrating, I thought I would be back to 100% in a couple of months after it came off.

--

--

Sean Barker, CPT, PN2
In Fitness And In Health

Award-winning fitness coach and best-selling author of The Easy Eating Diet and cookbook. Apply for Online Custom FIT Coaching here: https://bit.ly/3wzBhHH