The Benefits of Following My Dog’s Morning Routine

5 daily habits that keep me healthy, productive, and happy

Ethan C. Wright
In Fitness And In Health

--

Photo by Harry Burk on Unsplash

The past few days, I have woken up to find the dog sleeping next to me. He had somehow developed a new habit of migrating from his usual spot at the foot of the bed (where he can keep an eye on the door) about an hour before sunrise.

I can only speculate on the dog’s reasons for doing so. Perhaps he got cold in the mornings and moved closer for warmth. Or maybe he came over to check if I was still breathing. (I do that to him sometimes as well.) However, I prefer to think that he does it in anticipation of the stroking that he will receive when I wake up. After all, he chooses a strategic spot that is just within reach of my fingers but not close enough for me to cuddle him (which he tolerates but does not enjoy).

It was another reminder of how the dog and I have adapted to each other’s routines and habits. Thanks to the dog, I now have a very structured morning routine, which has been very beneficial to my health and well-being.

RISING WITH THE SUN

I was never much of a morning person. I preferred to study or work late into the night when it was cool and quiet. The dog, however, rises and sleeps with the sun. As much as he enjoys sleeping, he…

--

--