MEN’S HEALTH

The Gung-Ho Man’s Guide to Working Out LESS (and Feeling Great)

Calm your jets, fellas. Less is more.

Chris Davidson
In Fitness And In Health
5 min readSep 25, 2023

--

Author trying to embody ‘Gung Ho’. Canva.

Guys CAN multi-task after all, because we can be awesome and dumb at the same time.

  • Awesome by tackling things head-on, no messing about, let’s fix this.
  • Dumb because we confuse the quantity of energy and effort put into a task with the quality of actual work.

I could take you on a tour of my house and show you various home improvement projects I started myself, all guns blazing, ALL the tools…

and then had to call a guy to come do it right.

But working out is possibly the only area of my life where I HAVE learned to curtail my manly gung-ho urges. I keep things calm and steady and do just enough (2 hours a week tops) to stay in shape and still make progress at 47.

I don’t work out much, but when I do it’s a high-quality workout. I get a lotta bang for my buck.

And this is what I want to teach my fellow guys here. Because having coached hundreds of men over the years, I know how it starts:

6 days a week, all the goals, all the equipment, new sneakers, high expectations…

--

--

Chris Davidson
In Fitness And In Health

Coach for busy, out-of-shape Over-40s • Dad of 3 • Irishman • Trainer • Writer • Free Over-40s Fat Loss, Fitness & Lifestyle Programs : www.offacoach.com/free