The Salad That Did the Impossible

It got me to eat salad almost every day!

Schalk Cloete
In Fitness And In Health

--

The miracle-working salad in my nicest chipped bowl.

I’ve been riding the healthy-eating train for years, but salads never quite made it on board. Sure, I enjoy a couple of cucumber slices on the side, but making a full salad always seemed like more effort than it’s worth.

Then, one fine day, a slew of nutritional advice from several experts got me to change my ways. I had to address a deficiency in calcium, add more complex carbs and protein to my dinners, and try out a new superfood in the form of home-grown broccoli sprouts.

The salad that emerged from these recommendations turned out to be a real treat, and I have no problems motivating myself to make it time and time again. Thus, I deemed it worthy of its very own article.

Ingredients

My miracle-working salad is a complete meal offering a balanced mix of macro and micronutrients. Here’s a list of everything it contains:

  • A big handful of shredded kale
  • Half a handful of broccoli sprouts
  • Five sliced cherry tomatoes
  • One medium-sized avocado
  • 40 g of crushed whole-grain crackers
  • 80 g of canned chickpeas
  • 40 g of feta cheese (I use a local…

--

--