These 4 Songs Will Get You Through The Last Mile of Your Run

Norrie Beach
In Fitness And In Health
3 min readJan 11, 2022
Photo by Babumon PT on Unsplash

I started running last year, and I love it. It’s an easy way to get exercise without going to the gym, and it’s been so great for my mental and physical health. Since I was sixteen, I’ve been getting migraines, and running has cut the frequency of my migraines down by half. I also feel less general anxiety, and my resting heart rate has dropped by an average of 8 BPM.

I’ve never been a runner before 2021, and even though I really enjoy it, I still struggle to get through that last mile every time. After playing around with different music, podcasts, and audiobooks, I’ve found that listening to tunes that allow me to run on the beat really keeps me going. Depending on my mood, I like to change the music up for the first couple miles of my run, listening to pop or classic rock or show tunes, but I always finish my run off with the same four songs. These songs push me to finish my last mile strong, and I highly recommend that you add them to your running repertoire if you struggle at the end, as I do. If you’re just starting to get into running, and you just want to get a mile or two in, these songs are also a great way to get you in the groove and make sure you’re staying on pace.

1. The Distance by Cake

I always cue this song up at the beginning of my last mile because it’s really easy to run on the beat of the music. Usually, I feel like I’m dragging my feet by my last mile, and this song gets me back on track and on pace. With my feet hitting the ground on tempo with the music, I can turn my brain on autopilot and let my body do the work. It’s also a great, catchy song with lyrics that might be about racecar driving, but it is very relatable for anyone trying to make it to the end of a tough run as well.

2. I’m Still Standing by Elton John

I love this song, and it’s impossible to be in a bad mood while you’re listening to it. Seriously, it’s just the kind of song that makes you smile. The message will motivate you to keep going, and the beat of the music will keep you moving forward methodically. It’s a song that makes you want to dance, and just try not to bop your head when it starts blaring through your headphones.

3. Lose Yourself by Eminem

I think we can all agree that this is the best running playlist of all time. It’s well known that this is one of Michael Phelps’ workout playlist must-haves, and the beat is perfectly aggressive while the lyrics encourage you to give 100% to everything you set your mind to.

4. Work B*tch by Britney Spears

I like to finish my run on this song because nothing keeps me going like Britney reminding me that I need to put in the work if I want to meet my goals. When I finish, I always feel great, and this song makes me want to air punch all the way home.

So there you have it. The four best songs to finish off any great run. Give these a try the next time you lace up your shoes, and you might find yourself running even farther than you ever have before.

Happy running, everyone!

You just read another post from In Fitness And In Health: a health and fitness community dedicated to sharing knowledge, lessons, and suggestions to living happier, healthier lives.

If you’d like to join our newsletter and receive more stories like this one, tap here.

--

--

Norrie Beach
In Fitness And In Health

Freelance writer. Blogger. Lover of true crime podcasts, appetizers, and going to the beach.