What Happens When You Drink 3–4 Liters of Water Every Day?

Sricharan
In Fitness And In Health
3 min readDec 16, 2020
https://www.gqindia.com/live-well/content/how-to-lose-weight-by-drinking-water-benefits-for-weight-loss
Taken from GQ India

I’ve heard people talking about the benefits of drinking a lot of water every day — like radiant skin, better immune system, and so on… So, I thought “Hey, let me try drinking 4 liters of water every day and see what happens”. I wanted to see whether it could help me curb my appetite and weight loss.

Drinking 3–4 liters of water every day wasn’t easy. So, I split my day into 3 or 4 parts to meet my daily water intake.

I drank one liter of water just after I woke up. Normally, after my coffee. Then I drank another bottle 30 mins before and after breakfast. Then, I kept another one till evening. (the water bottle I take for my workouts isn’t included). I try to complete my last bottle before I sleep. So, yeah. It wasn’t easy.

Here are 5 things I noticed after a month.

1. Better mental clarity

I was clearer about my decisions and the number of times I doubted myself went down. I felt a surge in my mental capacity. I could confront my emotions and come to better conclusions as well.

2. Felt less hungry

This might seem obvious, but I was less hungry. Drinking a lot of water in the morning kept my hunger at bay. It helped me prevent overeating because I realized that the tendency to overeat arises not from the lack of hunger but from thirst.

3. Helped in fat loss

Since I was drinking a lot of water, the number of calories I consumed went down. Along with my workouts, drinking water helped me to burn more calories and reduce fat.

4. Felt less bloated

Sometimes after I woke up. I would feel bloated. It would hinder my ability to concentrate on my work. But after I drank a lot of water, I felt less bloated. Water is a natural way to flush out the toxins from your body.

5. Had to use the bathroom frequently

The advantage of drinking water is that it regulates your bowel movements. That can be a disadvantage as well, haha! This was a terrible side effect. But I expected it because what goes in must come out, right? Using the bathroom that much in a day isn’t fun.

https://www.cartoonstock.com/directory/d/drinking_water.asp
Taken from Cartoonstock

Conclusion:

Am I still drinking 3–4 liters of water every day? Definitely. Although the side effects need to be taken into account, they can still be dealt with. 3–4 liters a day may not be for everyone. But I would recommend everybody to drink 2–3 liters of water every day. It regulates your hunger, makes you feel light, and also helps you to live a happy life.

You just read another post from In Fitness And In Health: a health and fitness community dedicated to sharing knowledge, lessons, and suggestions to living happier, healthier lives.

If you’d like to join our newsletter and receive more stories like this one, tap here.

--

--

Sricharan
In Fitness And In Health

Fitness enthusiast, Trying to be the best version of myself everyday. Love to talk about physical and mental fitness.