What’s Better For Glutes — Thrusts or Bridges?

Study review comparing muscle activity between hip thrusts and glute bridges

Dylan Dacosta
In Fitness And In Health

--

When it comes to booty gains, the hip thrusts have reigned supreme over the last half decade in the fitness industry. For good reason too, as they are a great exercise to really hitting the glutes.

At times I do think the obsession with them can be overhyped and personally I just find the set up to be one of the bigger downsides of the exercise. Regardless, I still like them and think if you’re trying to maximize glute gains, they should be a staple in your programs.

With that being said, a new study by Kennedy et al. 2022, just came out comparing the barbell hip thrust to the barbell glute bridge in terms of hip extensor (glutes/hamstrings) and quad activation and I thought it would be worth briefly breaking down.

Here are videos of each exercise in case you don’t know what they are:

--

--

Dylan Dacosta
In Fitness And In Health

I am a personal trainer and online coach from Toronto, Ontario. If you like my writing, check out my website! www.five-elements.ca