When Your Loved One Is A Schizophrenic

This one took a piece of my heart away

Bhavnaa Narula
In Fitness And In Health

--

Photo by Josh Riemer on Unsplash

Hi everyone. How is this lockdown treating all of you? Firstly, thank you for taking out time to read this. I’m feeling thrilled about the topic I’m going to talk about.

It is uncommon in nature, but not to an extent that can be ignored.

Usually, when we talk about mental illnesses we mention names like Bipolar Personality, Multiple Personality Disorder, Associative Identity disorder, and so on. But today I want to share my personal experience with handling a case of Schizophrenia in my family.

I’m not trying to shock you. The idea here is to just make you see the pain of the people who look after these patients. No one talks about the suffering of the caretaker. As I would like to put it,

Schizophrenia is brutally unsympathetic. It subsumes all who come close to the affected.

I’m sure you have sensed the conviction in my tone. It seems due to the fact that I have seen this illness very closely. How do you ask? My own mother had been diagnosed with stage 4 Paranoid Schizophrenia in the year 2006.

--

--

Bhavnaa Narula
In Fitness And In Health

I am a dancer who writes what her heart dictates. My Insta ID- theaquarianparadise/ thedancingparadise28