Whip Yourself Back Into Shape

Julia E Hubbel
In Fitness And In Health
6 min readFeb 27, 2021

--

“Whip” is probably not the right approach after a long time sitting under quarantine

The two professionals I’m currently working with right now to get myself back into fighting shape, as it were, are neither of them youngsters. My trainer is 40, so just beginning middle age. My chiro is 48, about the midpoint. I’m 68, and female, so we cross a number of age ranges in terms of being athletic and committed to being in shape for life. That said, many if not most of us, outside professional athletes, are likely eyeballing their bodies with a wry eye as we consider what nearly a year inside, or sitting, or both, has done to our once-svelte (or at least healthier) selves.

In the last several weeks we’ve been ramping up my program as I return to full workouts. I’ve been interviewing them both about what they’re seeing as their clients return or as new ones present themselves. Often they show up with a few more unwanted pounds and unexpected aches, pains and injuries as their impatience to return to pre-Covid shape inspires them to take out the cat o’ nine tails on their bodies.

“Not a good move,” says Dr. Plummer, my sports chiro. He emphasized that for every pound we gain, especially in belly fat, the spine experiences four times that strain. “But here’s the real kicker that makes this even…

--

--

Julia E Hubbel
In Fitness And In Health

Stay tuned for some crossposting. Right now you can peruse my writing on Substack at https://toooldforthis.substack.com/ More to come soon.