Why I Prioritize Mobility Over Aesthetics

Nicole Cooper
In Fitness And In Health
6 min readFeb 22, 2023

--

And why you should consider doing the same.

Source

What is fitness?

If you let social media and other platforms of marketing and influence tell it, it’s a specific physique. It largely centers around fixing problem areas, losing fat, gaining muscle, and following a trendy diet like keto, paleo, or plant-based vegan. The reality is fitness really has nothing to do with those things. Being fit is completely about what your body can do. Your strength, endurance, and range of motion are examples of some key markers of what it means to be fit. While it is true that being fit can result in looking like your average influencer with time, looking a certain way doesn’t necessarily dictate one’s ability. While I do sometimes enjoy seeing the aesthetic benefits of how I train, it is honestly not my focus and is often an afterthought that I don’t really notice unless someone points it out.

Here’s why I focus on ability, especially mobility, over aesthetics.

1. What’s the point of looking strong if you move poorly?

I remember watching a video of a professional bodybuilder that trained with an Olympic gymnast for a day. He learned some of the basic tumbling skills and some strength-based movements on the male gymnastic apparatuses. While I wasn’t…

--

--

Nicole Cooper
In Fitness And In Health

Self-reflections, sports, fitness, health, travel, living abroad and social commentary that may come with a splash of contrarianism. Twitter & IG @_nicolecoop