Why I Stopped Listening to Music When I Work Out

Are you truly focused — or distracted when you train?

Jamie Logie
In Fitness And In Health

--

Photo by juan pablo rodriguez on Unsplash

I walked in and froze. I was in the gym and realized I had forgotten my headphones. I then started to question if I could even get through the workout.

Then one time, I got to the gym, and before stepping in; I realized I had forgotten them again.

I was so pissed that I actually left.

There are many examples of why I'm a moron, but these definitely make the list. In my mind, I didn’t think it was possible to get through a workout without music.

I’ve been a certified personal trainer for over 20 years, and have been training even longer than that. I always felt that going to the gym with headphones is the same as needing shoes: you can’t train without them.

Or can you?

You may have found yourself in the same position and wondered if you can even train without music. Let’s take a look at why working out without music may actually improve your results.

Can Music Distract You From the Task at Hand?

My music of choice for workouts had always been some form of aggressive hip hop. Over the years, it evolved into podcasts and audiobooks. I figured…

--

--

Jamie Logie
In Fitness And In Health

Some health, a little marketing, and a lot of 1980s content