Why You Should Stop Ignoring Your Cravings and Satisfy Them Instead

Nutrition experts explain my accidental weight loss strategy

Carly
5 min readMar 17, 2021
Photo by cottonbro on Pexels

“What can I get you, honey?” The waitress at our favorite breakfast spot asked.

My eyes lit up as my mind tantalized me. I’m craving something sweet. Pancakes sound good, ooh or the French toast. I can almost taste the syrup. “I’ll take 2 egg whites and an English muffin, please” I responded. Another part of my brain took over. I’m on a diet. Today can’t start with an unhealthy choice.

Not full and still desiring sweets, I’d uncontrollably binge on sugary foods when I got home. That was my weight loss strategy years ago. I ignored my cravings and felt dissatisfied with my diet. I wasn’t in control of my portion sizes and I weighed 30 pounds more than I do today.

Now, I eat what I crave — at restaurants and at home. By doing so, I naturally desire a balanced diet and no longer binge when I eat less healthy foods. I have smaller portions and can easily eat only half of my meal, saving the rest for later.

My transition from ignoring cravings to paying attention to them took months, but happened on accident. I got tired of my cycle of restricting then hyper-focusing then binging and decided to eat what I want. I noticed a switch to…

--

--

Carly

Vestibular Physical Therapist | Here to share knowledge, experience, and tips to help you understand dizziness and get your life back