You Are Underestimating the Power of A Power Plate

4 benefits of a power plate and you can use it.

Shamar M
In Fitness And In Health

--

Photo by Bruno Nascimento on Unsplash

My mum came into my room a few weeks ago and asked if I had heard of a “power plate”. I actually had no idea, but when I searched my phone I realised that she meant the big, super-fast vibrating machine that people stretch on in the gym.

“A Power-Plate is a machine that gives the body’s muscles a high-speed workout by using vibrations to stimulate them to contract and relax. They generally contract once or twice a second, but by standing on the Power-Plate, its vibrations cause an automatic reflex muscle contraction of 30–50 a second” — The Guardian

I’ve never used them before, but my best mate had gone on them after every workout. I never bothered to ask her what the plate actually does for you because I just assumed it was a machine for massaging muscles or something. I was wrong, but not too wrong.

A friend of my mum’s was giving away the power plate for free including a workout and stretch DVD. Free? In today’s society? Go on then. It can go in the garage considering we’ve just cleared the whole thing out.

--

--

Shamar M
In Fitness And In Health

27. Based in the UK. PG DIP HR Management. Chief of publication The First Time. Editor in About Me Stories.