You Don’t Need Expensive Supplements To Build Muscle

Save your money

Solly Muwaniri
In Fitness And In Health
3 min readFeb 3, 2021

--

Photo by LYFE Fuel on Unsplash

These days brands are experts at marketing and are well versed in human behaviour. They can make it seem like their products are the only way to build muscle and you will fail without it. The truth is you don’t need any supplements to build muscle.

In reality supplements should be the last thing you think about as a beginner but for most people its the very first thing they ask “what supplements should I use”.

Don’t misunderstand me I have nothing against using supplements (I have been training for many years and use them myself), what I find baffling is that they are portrayed as more important than a balanced diet, smart training, and quality sleep.

My first 2 years of training I didn’t use any supplements because for some reason and I don’t know why, I just didn’t believe I needed a tablet or powder to reach my goals.

I built muscle by concentrating on the part of training people like to neglect which is nutritious food, eating my protein, not overindulging and having a bedtime which resulted in my success.

Eat Real Food First

Photo by Emiliano Vittoriosi on Unsplash

Instead of spending a lots of money on expensive protein powder, get your protein from meat, poultry, fish, vegetarian meat substitutes, eggs, nuts and beans. Ideally every time you eat, their should be protein on your plate.

Instead of using a pre-workout before your training, you can have a cup of coffee or a pre-workout snack. Your snack should be mainly carbs and a little bit of healthy fats (eg oats with peanut butter, yogurt with some nuts on the side) to produce that boost of energy throughout your session.

Instead of omega 3 tablets add fatty fish to the menu. Fish such as salmon, mackerel and sardines are packed full of omega 3.

Instead of countless vitamin tablets start eating your greens, fruits and nuts. A varied diet of leafy and colourful vegetables will cover many of your macronutrient needs. Start going outside more and get some sunshine, for a good dose of vitamin d.

So get the most important things right before you do or don’t add supplements to your nutrition.

a thing added to something else in order to complete or enhance it.

If you do use them make sure you actually need them and they fit your budget.

You just read another post from In Fitness And In Health: a health and fitness community dedicated to sharing knowledge, lessons, and suggestions to living happier, healthier lives.

If you’d like to join our newsletter and receive more stories like this one, tap here.

--

--