You Don’t Need To Take Pills. You Need Sleep!

I bought a Fitbit to track my sleep. The result shocked me and made my sleep deprivation even worse

Kristina God, MBA
In Fitness And In Health

--

Hand photo created by jcomp

In the early days of motherhood, out of the blue, I started to have high blood pressure and a racing pulse. I called the doctor and he said it may be hormones playing tricks on me. Although I still was in the postpartum period, I couldn’t believe this was the ‘real’ reason why my pulse was so high.

My baby was around three months old at this time, still in the stage where he was waking up every second hour and needed nursing back to sleep. We’d been practicing co-sleeping from day one and I didn’t feel any regrets about it.

Hang in there. It will pass.

My mom often came to visit us, and when she saw the dark circles underneath my eyes, she regularly asked me how the previous night had gone. Some nights were ok and I had the feeling I’d got a few hours of shut-eye. Some were really terrible and I had the feeling I hadn’t slept at all.

My mom tried to encourage me by saying things like: ‘Sadly, that’s part of mom’s life’, or ‘Hang in there. It will pass.’, or ‘Maybe tonight will be better.’

My pulse was 150 plus

--

--

Kristina God, MBA
In Fitness And In Health

Bestselling Substack writer I Marketing Expert I Top Writer I Helps you write, market and monetize your writing.⚡ Sign up: https://kristinagod.substack.com/