BETTER LEFT UNSPOKEN

10 Reasons Why I Didn’t Leave A Comment

It’s not what you think

Carlo Zeno
The Penny Pub
Published in
3 min readFeb 2, 2023

--

Photo by 青 晨 on Unsplash
  1. I’m naturally diplomatic and didn’t want to risk offense. I don’t apologize for this trait about myself. Some people consider you a sell out if you are not constantly sounding off on the first opinion that pops into your head 24/7. We’ve all heard the saying that opinions are like asses — everyone’s got one. I’m of the opinion that the world needs more diplomacy and less asses.
  2. The subject matter didn’t call for a response. Maybe you wrote a poem about depression, or an essay about bulimia, or a confession about how nothing gives you greater pleasure than walking around the city center and slapping random strangers in the face. Sometimes I have nothing to say. Doesn’t mean I did not read and take an interest in your story.
  3. I didn’t want to cheapen your story with my irrelevant two cents. What makes you think I have anything interesting to say? Your story blew me away and should stand on its own merit without my obnoxious two cents stealing the spotlight!
  4. Some things are better left unsaid. What I have to say about your story is so plain and so obvious that it borders on being offensive.
  5. I don’t always like the sound of my own voice. I’m really not as narcissistic as I look. If…

--

--

Carlo Zeno
The Penny Pub

Top writer in poetry and satire. Migrant. Expat. INFP. Poet. Satirist. Tragedian. Tutor. Public Servant.