From Shadows to Spotlight

It’s never too late to find confidence in yourself

Lise R
The Penny Pub

--

This photo shows a empty stage with a spotlight and illustrates the courage to step into a new phase of life.
Illustration made by the Author with the help of AI. The illustration symbolizes the courage to step into a new phase of life.

I grew up in a small community, in elementary school, we were only 60 pupils, and options for friendships were limited. With my red hair and freckles, I felt like an outsider. My personality — quiet and shy did not help either. The schoolyard should have been a place of laughter and play but became a mental battleground where I faced bullying and exclusion. This left me with little choice in forming friendships and forced me to retreat into my own fantasy world, making me even more weird. I found comfort in being alone, where nobody could judge or tease me.

It was only in high school, where I was no longer surrounded by the familiar faces of my old school, that I started making true friends who accepted me for who I am.

However, even with these new friends, I still had this nagging feeling of self-doubt.

When I started working, the lack of self-confidence followed me. I was always the one who did not dare to take up space. I did not speak in meetings unless someone asked me directly; I never initiated suggestions for changes. Surprisingly, my colleagues began to seek me out for my opinions and advice. At first, I could not believe them when they said they valued my thoughts because I seemed reflective and knowledgeable. Responding to their…

--

--

Lise R
The Penny Pub

Lise: Likes to write, travel and exploring sustainable living.