THE PENNY PUB

Grandpa Instilled the Joy of Traveling Within My Heart and Soul

I want to walk in his footsteps to see what he saw

Chevie Hanssler
The Penny Pub
Published in
4 min readJul 21, 2024

--

This shows a man taking photos of an old outhouse and barn.
My grandpa photographs old structures at a ghost town in Bodie, California. (Author’s photo)

My grandparents were world travelers — from African safaris to hikes across Ireland and England and hot air balloon festivals in New Mexico. They visited every state in the U.S. except Hawaii.

Grandpa, an avid photographer, also traveled to exotic places such as Nepal, Yemen, and India.

As a child, he showed me these places through his lens. I saw what he saw on a giant screen in his basement. Grandpa set up a projector, turned off the lights, and transported me to wonderful places. The comforting whir of the projector and the V-shaped beam of light it produced filled me with anticipation before the first slide appeared on the screen with the click of the remote in Grandpa’s hand.

Where would we travel to this time?

My retinas memorized the cobblestoned streets of England, the snow-capped mountains of Italy, the colorful courtyards of the Netherlands, dunes in Colorado, lions lounging in Africa, castles and cathedrals in Germany, artists painting in Paris, and so much more.

They lived a full life and saw many wonderful things in their 99 years on this planet. They both passed away…

--

--

Chevie Hanssler
The Penny Pub

Child of the 70s. Lover of nostalgia. Former newspaper editor. I write memoir and personal essays.