PENNY PROMPT

Meeting New People Is My Super Power

I’m energized by asking people I meet deep questions

Kim Kelly Stamp
The Penny Pub
Published in
4 min readDec 6, 2023

--

A woman standing against a brick wall.
The author in an Olympia, WA bookstore — Photo Credit: Victoria Hogue

I was fully involved with the birthday party at our next-door neighbor’s house. Many people from the neighborhood mingled inside and out, children played loudly in the yard, and we were about to eat the spectacular birthday cake I’d been waiting patiently to sample.

What could be better on a Saturday afternoon than hanging around with a bunch of neighbors?

I grabbed my piece of cake, chocolate with cream cheese frosting, if you must know, and went to look for my wife, only to discover she was nowhere to be found.

I checked inside my neighbor’s house and wandered around the yard, looking for her. I casually flowed in and out of various conversations, trying to act normal, hoping no one would ask me where she was.

This went on for about thirty minutes, and then I became concerned.

I said my gracious goodbyes to the host couple and returned to our house, only to find my lovely wife lounging on the couch, watching a college football game on TV.

What the hell’s going on,” I asked her with a smile. When she told me what she did, I couldn’t stop laughing.

--

--

Kim Kelly Stamp
The Penny Pub

Writer. Publisher. Editor. Essayist. Espresso Enthusiast. LGBTQ+. PNW Native. Traveler. Gigi Extraordinaire. Pieces in: NYT, HuffPost, Next Avenue & elsewhere.