THE PENNY PUB

Music Has Always Been an Important Part of My Life

We all have a personal soundtrack

Christine Schoenwald
The Penny Pub
Published in
4 min readFeb 29, 2024

--

woman in aqua dress dances, arms outspread
Photo by Nadim Merrikh on Unsplash

One of my earliest memories is singing and dancing to Nancy Sinatra’s hit, “These Boots Were Made for Walkin,” I was five years old, but the song’s lyrics and attitude spoke to me.

You keep lyin’ when you oughta be truthin’
And you keep losing when you oughta not bet
You keep samin’ when you oughta be a’changin’
Now what’s right is right but you ain’t been right yet

My favorite and only dance was The Twist to it. And I was a very good twister. I’d twist down low, jump up twisting, and then twist in place.

“Is this how you do it?” My mother would ask and then do a way-off version of it. I corrected her and demonstrated the correct way of twisting.

“No!” I cried. “You gotta do it like this,” and there I’d be in my pink shorts, layered pink crop top, and Keds twisting like a child-sized cyclone.

It’s not that I didn’t twist to Chubby Checker’s hit song, “The Twist,” I did — I just twisted to everything. Later, in ’80s, when the ’60s stuff was back in fashion, I twisted then, too.

--

--

Christine Schoenwald
The Penny Pub

Writer for The Los Angeles Times, Salon, Next Avenue, Business Insider, and Your Tango Christineschoenwaldwriter.com