NINETIES MUSIC | LISTICLE

My Top 10 Favorite Grunge Rock Songs

A GrungeFest of Music

Darren Weir
The Penny Pub
Published in
6 min readApr 30, 2023

--

In the 90s I was living in downtown Toronto. I started working in the newsroom at CITY-TV which had a worldwide reputation as a creator of innovative television. It was cutting edge and its impact is still reverberating through the industry today. It was a great place to nurture talent and creativity. The newsroom was in the same building as some of the more popular shows and channels like Fashion Television, Space, Bravo, and Much Music, Canada’s answer to MTV. My access to videos and even live performances fed into my growing love of music, especially Grunge, the Seattle Sound.

I latched onto the musical genre like a magnet. The blend of punk rock and heavy metal was unlike anything I had heard before and yet was somehow familiar.

Grunge evolved to mean more than just the music. It was an alternative way of life and had a huge influence on popular culture. We saw it infiltrate fashion with designer flannel shirts and work boots on the fashion runways of Paris, New York, and London.

I fit right in with my long, unruly hair (sometimes dyed black), my nose ring, my earrings, and of course my flannel shirt, black jeans, and black work boots. Even if I was several years older than the average fan.

--

--

Darren Weir
The Penny Pub

I write about Travel, Photography, Music - Parasol Publications Editor - Publisher of Travel Memoirs - TV News Producer (retired)