PENNY PROMPT

Slow Love for the Middle-Ages

A realistic alternative to love at first sight

Sandy Maximus
The Penny Pub
Published in
2 min readFeb 15, 2024

--

The back of a couple watching sunset
Photo by Khamkéo Vilaysing on Unsplash

The one or two times I was attracted to someone at first sight, it didn’t take too long for the excitement to fizzle.

Except for falling in love with my dog the first time I saw him as a puppy and my children when they were born, I haven’t experienced the concept of “love at first sight” (LAFS), at least not the romantic kind.

I could relate to Julie Marr’s story of love at second glance as an alternative to LAFS. In my first serious relationship, it took me more than a second glance to grow to like, love, and eventually marry the man. It took a lot of pursuing on his part, including crossing oceans. What I thought would be everlasting love wasn’t meant to be, and we parted ways after two decades.

As with everything else, many lessons were learned along the way. In my 20s, I was conditioned to think that the clock was ticking and life had to be planned with social and biological timelines in mind.

Now in my mid-40s, the pursuit of love is void of timelines. I met my boyfriend at forty-five; he was forty-nine. The two of us were from different worlds. We had such different upbringings and lived experiences that wanting to find love and companionship was the only common…

--

--

Sandy Maximus
The Penny Pub

An academic, a mother, and a wanna-be writer in (pre) cancer treatment with interests from travel to tennis, personal stories, and life lessons.