MUSIC FOR THE SOUL

Take it Easy, Girl

Don’t let the sound of your own wheels make you crazy

Jill Ebstein
The Penny Pub
Published in
4 min readFeb 24, 2024

--

beautiful-young-woman-with-long-blowing-blonde-hair-in-neon-yellow-tank, wind blowing
Unsplash+ In collaboration with Getty Images

It’s 1979, and I’m graduating college without a plan. I have two boxes packed. Should I send them to Chicago where my friend’s parents live and can receive them and me?

Or maybe Boston. My brother will be moving there. It’s supposed to be a quaint place to live. Plus, Ted Kennedy lives there, and maybe I can work on his national health care plan. I’ve got goals.

Goals? What goals? Plan? What’s a plan? My kind and wise parents say nothing.

I wake up that morning and decide, “Boston it is.”

Take it easy…don’t let the sound of your own wheels drive you crazy…
(Eagles lyrics from Take It Easy)

It’s now four years later. I’ve completed graduate school and am heading to New York. It’s the “big city” — full of life, a modest paying job, maybe a roommate if I’m lucky. I know so few people. New York is a tough place to break into. I’m nervous, but I find my guts and take the plunge.

What am I singing?

“Take it easy. Don’t let the sound of your own wheels make you crazy.”

I remind myself that easy does it… if only I can.

--

--

Jill Ebstein
The Penny Pub

I’m about dogs, our lovable and peculiar families, business, and writing in a wide lane, including fiction. I’m a positivity washer too. www.jillebstein.com