THE PENNY PUB

The Most Famous Person I Ever Met

In a world surrounded by celebrities one famous person stands out

Darren Weir
The Penny Pub
Published in
5 min readApr 5, 2024

--

Backstage of an outdoor concert. Scaffolding and a lighting grid are visible in the foreground, stairs lead up to a small room where performers can wait. A huge crowd of people is visible in the background.
Backstage at MuchMusic Video Awards 2009 — Darren Weir

My career in broadcast news opened up a lot of doors for me that are closed to most people. I had the privilege of meeting many high-profile celebrities and politicians.

As an entertainment reporter for a top-40 radio station in the mid-eighties, I met musicians from a wide range of musical genres, from Stevie Wonder to Motley Crue. That continued at every radio and television station where I worked throughout my career. Every artist had a new project they wanted to promote.

Years later while working at a popular TV station in Toronto, part of a network of channels that included MuchMusic and Bravo, I was introduced to an even more eclectic group of artists and celebrities. For a couple of years, I produced an evening talk show in Toronto that featured different celebrities almost every night.

While meeting celebrities didn’t feel like a big deal anymore I did act like a fanboy backstage at the MuchMusic Video Awards party in 2009.

That night, I spoke with Lady Gaga about her music while she was promoting her first album. I was a little tongue-tied at first but she quickly put me at ease. She posed for a photo but I don’t think…

--

--

Darren Weir
The Penny Pub

I write about Travel, Photography, Music - Parasol Publications Editor - Publisher of Travel Memoirs - TV News Producer (retired)