The Most Stressful Thing about Eating Out

And 9 things that are even more stressful

Caroline Rock
The Penny Pub
3 min readFeb 13, 2023

--

Photo by Pablo Merchán Montes on Unsplash

Drumroll, please. According to one 2019 poll, 65% of respondents said the most stressful thing about eating out is deciding what to wear. You’ve got to be kidding me.

Almost half of those polled try on dozens of outfits before deciding, and some even pay stylists to choose for them. Other more reasonable respondents admit to calling a friend to ask for advice about what to wear.

Personally, I find that ridiculous, and maybe you will agree that there are far more stressful things to deal with when eating out.

Stressful thing #1. That I won’t know what to order. I already know what I’m going to order at all of our favorite restaurants. But what if that item is no longer on the menu? Case in point: Panera’s portabella panini, Panera’s turkey artichoke panini, Panera’s Mediterranean quinoa salad…sensing a pattern? Also the prime rib special at Squid Lips. And the waiter stands, sighing impatiently, tapping his toe, while I frantically search the menu for a backup. Then he spits in my food.

Stressful thing #2. That the server will find some inexplicable reason to spit in my food.

Stressful thing #3. That someone in the restaurant will recognize me.

Stressful thing #4. That no one in the restaurant will recognize me.

Stressful thing #5. That my husband will think I’m a lush if I order a second whiskey sour.

Stressful thing #6. That I will trip on the way to the rest room and everyone will think I’m a lush, even if I only had one whiskey sour.

Photo by Ash Edmonds on Unsplash

Stressful thing #7. That I will mispronounce something on the menu. Of course the server will share my faux pas (pronounced “fox pass”) with the rest of the staff, and they will laugh at me behind my back.

Stressful thing #8. That I will have a mouthful of half-chewed food at the exact moment when I have to sneeze. Or cough. Or laugh. As if there’s anything funny about eating out.

Stressful thing #9. That we will arrive at the restaurant only to find it is permanently closed with no explanation or warning. Case in point: Chi-chis, Ruby Tuesday, Red Barn (dating myself, I know).

As you can see, there are far more serious things to be stressed about than what I’m going to wear. Choosing an outfit to wear to dinner is not stressful, in my opinion, and certainly nothing I would pay someone to do for me.

However, I had not considered the option of phoning friends for advice, which I may do in the future if I am ever faced with any of my own stresses.

Stressful thing #10. That my friends will think I’m a lush if I call them from the restaurant to ask if they think I’m a lush.

What are the things that stress you most about eating out? I’d love to hear your comments!

--

--

Caroline Rock
The Penny Pub

Recovering Pharisee, wearing many hats badly. Sometimes I crack myself up.