The Sturg’s Top 10 Inspirational Songs Playlist

These are songs that move and inspire me

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
The Penny Pub
4 min readJan 10, 2023

--

Photo by Manasvita S on Unsplash

10. Not Afraid-Eminem

This Eminem song basically inspires me to just be myself and not be afraid of what anyone else thinks about me. He’s faced criticisms his whole career about being too offensive or being this and that and he’s just being himself. This song is definitely inspiring and is a great track to get myself hyped up to.

Video by EminemMusic on YouTube

9. Because You Loved Me-Celine Dion

Celine Dion is one of my favorite female artists of all time. She sings an inspiring song about love called “Because You Love Me” which was featured in the movie, “Up Close and Personal”. This song is one of my favorite tracks of all time but also a very inspiring song that reminds me how far the right person in a relationship can push you to be your best in life. I have a great partner and this song makes me think of how our relationship has evolved and grown over the years.

Video provided by Celine Dion on YouTube

8. Heroes (We Could Be)-Alesso

I could’ve picked David Bowie’s song with a similar title. It’s equally as inspirational and with a similar message but this song with an electronic pop sound is much more modern and upbeat. I enjoy this song so much when I’m feeling down and is a must on my playlist when it comes to inspiration. The vocals are so haunting and beautiful and I could listen to this song on repeat.

Video provided by Alesso on YouTube

7. Fight Song-Rachel Platten

This is my fight song, take back my life song. Wow, such powerful lyrics about a fighter and overcoming adversity. I can relate to this song so much since I’ve led a pretty difficult life where I’ve had to overcome many obstacles, including some recent ones, to be surviving and standing here today. If you want inspiration, go ahead and play this one a few times and see where your mood and motivation go afterward.

Video provided by Rachel Platten on YouTube

6. Rise Up-Andra Day

Another song that is hard to deny and that it can inspire and change your mood. Andra’s soaring yet vulnerable vocals take me to a magical place when I hear them. She has a beautiful soul that shines through in this instant classic. And her talent is so effortless and makes me want to listen to this song whenever I’m also feeling broken down and tired.

Video provided by Andra Day on YouTube

5. Brave-Sara Bareilles

A while back, I wrote about how this song helped me become more assertive. Sara Bareilles is an underrated and talented musician. Her music just makes me feel all sorts of feelings in general. “Brave” is one of those songs that can instantly pick me up when I hear it and can make even the worst of days feel not so bad.

Video provided by Sara Bareilles on YouTube

4. Halo-Beyoncé

Queen Bey had to be on this list at least once. The song “Halo” had to be the choice I made with her music as well. It was originally inspired by the early relationship between her and her husband, Jay-Z, it is very much a love story but also an inspiring love story. This song is similar to “Because You Loved Me” in that respect but I think that it takes the feelings you get from that song and just elevates them about a few more tiers. There’s something special about this song that I can’t quite describe.

Video provided by Beyoncé on YouTube

3. When You Believe-Mariah Carey & Whitney Houston

Two of the greatest divas to ever live did a duet for a movie called “The Prince of Egypt”. The song that was produced from that was this magical and inspiring piece of work. I don’t know of any other duet in history that makes me feel so much and weep openly than this song. It’s simultaneously inspiring but also gut-wrenching. There really can be miracles when you believe.

Video provided by Whitney Houston on YouTube

2. The Dog Days are Over-Florence & The Machine

This song gets me from the moment Florence Welch opens her mouth and that beautiful and angelic voice comes out. Then she hooks me with those hypnotic drum beats. This song is so inspiring because it really does make me feel like the dog days are over when I listen to it. It almost transports me to another world when I listen to this song. There’s almost something cosmic and otherworldly about the vibes to this song that puts it near the top of my personal list.

Video provided by florencemachine on YouTube
  1. Stronger (What Doesn’t Kill You)-Kelly Clarkson

Kelly Clarkson has been a powerhouse pop diva ever since she popped onto the scene and won American Idol back in 2002. She is one of two stars that came from that show and achieved superstardom. Her song Stronger (What Doesn’t Kill You) is one of my favorite songs from her and is definitely at the top of my list when it comes to most inspirational songs. Kelly’s voice alone can calm and motivate me. Add to that the lyrics of actually overcoming adversity and beating the odds and you have my favorite and top inspirational song on this list.

Video provided by Kelly Clarkson on YouTube

I have so many more songs that I could’ve included on this list across multiple decades and genres but these songs really stand out for me in the present day and a lot of them are more recent than ones that I could’ve included on this list. I hope you enjoy this list and come up with your own as well. I also would like to know in the comments which songs you agree with and which songs you would like to add here.

You can read Darren Weir’s list here. You can say I was “inspired” by his inspirational playlist and did one of my own.

--

--

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
The Penny Pub

Gay, disabled in an RV, Cali-NY-PA, Boost Nominator. New Writers Welcome, The Taoist Online, Badform. Owner of International Indie Collective pubs.