The Top Eight Luther Vandross Songs That Touched Me

The ultimate playlist of one of the best R&B/soul singers in history

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
The Penny Pub
5 min readFeb 6, 2023

--

By ImagePros — Flickr, CC BY 2.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=16152877

Luther Vandross was born on April 20, 1951. He started his career as a backup singer for many popular R&B singers throughout the 70s. In 1981, he released his first solo album. The rest is history. He sold over 40 million albums worldwide and won a handful of awards and nominations throughout his recording career. Sadly, he passed away in July 2005 but he definitely left a major legacy.

I was born in 1982 and his music was really an overarching playlist for my childhood. I have always adored his smooth, soulful voice, and his effortless range. I especially enjoyed it when he did duets with other legends. One that sticks with me will be one that I will include in my list today.

8. “One Shining Moment”

He recorded this song back in 2003 for the NCAA tournament. The song had previously been recorded by various other musical artists for the champions of the sporting event. I’ve always been a huge fan of sports and especially of the event that they call “March Madness”. They still use his version 20 years later. That shows you how amazing and enduring his singing voice is.

Video provided by David Barrett-Topic on YouTube

7. “Power of Love/Love Power”

Luther Vandross recorded this award-winning song back in 1991 when I was about 9 years old. I loved the faster pace of this song compared to some of his other hits previously. It had a positive message about the powerful effects of loving someone. He mentions all of the things that he’d do for the person that he loves. It almost feels like he wrote this song with a particular person in mind. I definitely felt that from listening to it, for sure. It’s still one of my favorites to listen to from him today.

Video provided by Luther Vandross on YouTube

6. “Endless Love (Duet with Mariah Carey)”

Now this song is special to me because of the fact that there are two of my favorite singers in it. Mariah Carey and Luther Vandross. What a powerhouse combination. And it definitely delivered. This duet was recorded in 1995. As you can see, this is a cover of the original by Diana Ross and Lionel Richie but this delivers just as much emotion and power, if not more than the original popular duet. I could listen to this song on repeat all day long.

Video provided by Luther Vandross on YouTube

5. “Superstar/Until You Come Back To Me”

Another cover lands on my list. This one was recorded in 1983. I had many chances to hear this cover version most of my early childhood and beyond. There have been many covers of this iconic song including by the Carpenters prior to this version in 1971 and by Ruben Studdard in 2003 and many more in between. This one still connects with me the most. He really takes his time and slows down and really makes us feel all of the emotions with his version.

Video provided by Luther Vandross on YouTube

4. “Never Too Much”

This song was recorded in 1981 and was included in his debut solo album. This one was destined to be an instant classic. It is so catchy, and upbeat, and showcases his talent and range. I definitely love playing this one when I’m feeling down. His voice always makes me feel better.

Video provided by Luther Vandross on YouTube

3. “Here and Now”

This is another song that was released when I was a young boy. This song was recorded in 1989. It was re-released on the Greatest Hits album again in 1996. His powerful and soulful voice is again on full display in this song. This song is also the ultimate romantic song to listen to with your partner. I imagine that I’ll be playing this song at our wedding. Such a beautiful and incredibly touching song.

Video provided by Luther Vandross on YouTube

2. “Dance With My Father”

I’m not sure if it was the emotional connection that he felt with this song at the time calling out to his father who had previously passed away. It could’ve also been the timing of the release. This was around the time that my own father and I started falling out in a major way and every time I hear this song, it makes me think about that and tear up. Either way, this song was an instant classic when it was released in 2003 about a year or so before Luther’s death.

Video provided by Luther Vandross on YouTube

1. “A House Is Not A Home”

I didn’t know that this was a cover the first time I heard it. That’s how powerful and original the version that Luther Vandross released made me not hear anything cover about his song. It was originally written by Hal David and Burt Bacharach in 1964 but this version of the song was released in 1981. I’ve never heard one single piece of music that makes me feel more emotions than this song. It’s such a heartbreaking song that really makes us feel everything he’s trying to convey. That’s why it’s easily the song that most touched me out of all of the songs in his legendary career.

Video provided by Luther Vandross on YouTube

Luther Vandross definitely was taken from this world way too early. He passed away in 2005 at the age of 54. He had always dealt with weight issues associated with diabetes and hypertension.

We also didn’t find out until after he died that he was homosexual. He knew that coming out during his musical career would’ve possibly altered his legacy. I could definitely relate since I also delayed coming out. I feel an extra, deeper connection to him because of our shared sexual orientation. I just find it tragic that he felt that he could never come out in his lifetime.

Regardless of anything he was dealing with in his personal life, he shared so much with the world that we felt that we already knew him. He was an amazing talent, a great person, and a legendary musician. He will always be remembered for the legacy of music that he left behind and the generations of musicians and artists that he has influenced today.

--

--

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
The Penny Pub

Gay, disabled in an RV, Cali-NY-PA, Boost Nominator. New Writers Welcome, The Taoist Online, Badform. Owner of International Indie Collective pubs.