TAIL WAGS THE DOG

Top 10 Affirmations My Dog Says Every Time He Eats

Who’s training who here?

Lotus Empress
The Penny Pub
Published in
3 min readMay 4, 2023

--

Chunk waiting at his spot for his food to be plated. Yes, sir! Photo by author.

Shih-Tzus are picky eaters.

My dog, Chunk, takes pickiness to another level. He would carry a boycott sign around the kitchen if he had opposable thumbs. Sometimes I feel like begging him to eat food that another dog would gladly eat.

As a child, I was told, “There are kids in the Philippines starving,” when I would not finish my food. The guilt would force me to finish the Filipino food, which as a child, I did not appreciate.

Frustratedly I would point outside and say to Chunk, “Any dog out there would snarf up this chicken.” His blank stare equated to, “Yeah, and?”

You didn’t separate my food, Mom! Photo by author

Although the daily affirmations I listen to are usually related to abundance, self-love, and visualizations of my future, Chunk’s affirmations are more food related.

When Chunk wants to eat, he gives us his paw. We normally feed him in the morning and the evening. But keeping to a specific time is like me trying to herd cats (no offense to the cats) because he eats when he wants to.

--

--