THE PENNY PUB

What Would Friends Say?

Oh, that would take a long book to count the ways they see me

Sana Sparks
The Penny Pub
Published in
3 min readMay 8, 2024

--

Eight friends line hugging.
Photo by Duy Pham on Unsplash

My friends have been important to me, even when they think they are not. Some have seen the worst and stuck around for the good. Most don’t. They can’t.

Friendship is not a matter of staying in touch forever. None of us can, especially in a world this broad. It’s a matter of being touched forever. We might forget a name, a face, even the place where we know one another. But we do not forget how someone makes us feel about life, them, and ourselves.

The friends I love the most have told me their perceptions of me. I try my best to always tell them the same, and do it well. Even if the truth sends us in different directions. They are directions we have to take.

People who don’t care say nothing. Is it because I am invisible to them? I used to believe that. Now I keep reminding myself what we all think, about anything, is invisible unless we express the thoughts in some way. Most things don’t need to be said. And we can’t know everyone.

But people who hate me? Especially people who have hated me instantly? They fascinate me! They sometimes do me the best favors. And give me things to think about.

--

--

Sana Sparks
The Penny Pub

An elder who creates magic, tells true stories, throws open the mind. understands dreams, sings wordless songs, and knows the gift of memory.