Why Knowledge Is My Compass

A Relentless Pursuit of Understanding and Growth

Kageno
The Penny Pub
3 min readMar 24, 2024

--

A pink coffee cup next to a book entitled Knowledge
Photo by Gabriella Clare Marino on Unsplash

In the vastness of existence, among the to and fro of time, there is an unwavering partner with me from the beginning of my consciousness. It directed my steps, formed my choices and lightened my path. This dependable ally is the pursuit of knowledge — a torch that makes the world clearer amidst confusion.

I wake up every morning to embark on this lifelong journey, driven by a bottomless thirst for knowledge and an unquenchable curiosity unrestricted by anything. It ’s not just a habit or routine, but a lifestyle which forms part of my very essence and guides every decision I make, every action I perform and every thought that enters into my mind.

For me, knowledge as a compass means something more than a mere strategy - it’s deeply personal and emotionally touching. It is always about embracing the unfamiliar with wide open arms, allowing each new discovery to be cherished like a gift that was imagined so long ago in dreamless sleep, and each novel hurdle turned into an occasion for self-realization.

In the hustle and bustle of everyday living, it is easy to forget the bigger picture — becoming immersed in the consequences that happen from time to time. However, by anchoring myself in knowledge seeking, I am able to break free from limitations of the present moment of reality, see deeper than appearances and pick glimpses of hidden truths.

Every day I set off on a journey of exploration and discovery where I seek new ideas, new ways of looking at things and new angles of thought. Whether it’s through reading, writing or engaging in meaningful conversations with others my aim is always to broaden my horizons, thereby enhancing my understanding about the world we live in.

But maybe even more importantly than that, using knowledge as a compass enables me to navigate life’s complexities with elegance and toughness. In times when I’m unsure or confused it grants me certainty, which has helped me get through very dark moments in life.

And yet, this trip is not without its difficulties. There are days when the way in front seems steep and dangerous, when the burden of the unknown becomes almost unbearable for me. Nevertheless, precisely at such points, my dedication to knowledge becomes most evident; it shows me the right way forward and gives me strength to hold on.

Every day, I tread this path with high regard and respect, thankful for the opportunity to descend deeper and deeper into those regions of knowledge and wisdom. It has been a journey that remodeled me in ways that were beyond imagination, instilling deep humility, empathy and thankfulness towards anyone around me.

Finally, using knowledge as my compass is not only about gathering facts or figures — it’s about embracing the beauty of the unknowns; getting thrilled by discovery itself as well as enjoying continuous learning. It means appreciating that authentic wisdom is not born from answers obtained but rather from questions asked. It also entails grasping that no matter which direction life takes me, so long as I maintain this unwavering commitment, I am never lost.

--

--

Kageno
The Penny Pub

Knowing what it feels like to be in pain, is exactly why we try to be kind to others.