Why ‘The Little Prince’ Would Be My Island Companion

What makes a book a lifelong companion?

Kageno
The Penny Pub
3 min readApr 3, 2024

--

Arial view of a book, glasses, and a cup of coffee on a white background
Photo by Sincerely Media on Unsplash

When I think of being stranded on an uninhabited island, which is all about waves crashing relentlessly and a breeze accompanying it, I can’t help but acknowledge the captivating appeal of such a scenario. If all the comforts and distractions were to be removed from my life, what would I still hold onto? To me, the solution is found in one book: The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry.

It is not just a simple book that happens to be called The Little Prince; it’s a relationship that brings me guidance and reminds me year after year through time itself, as its contents were forever encountered by many people in different eras.

This is also a narrative that conveys essential truths through fantastic storytelling for every childish person inside each of us. In this well-loved classic, every page breathes wisdom and innocence. These qualities are what make them so dear to me when I imagine myself stranded on some deserted island.

The magic in The Little Prince lies in its ability to transport me into a realm where imagination rules. I go on a quest of self-discovery through the eyes of the Little Prince, meeting quirky characters and learning poignant lessons on my way. From the smart fox who taught lasting truths about love and friendship to a haughty but finally adorable rose, every single encounter is like watching complex human nature in a mirror.

But it’s not only the captivating narrative that attracts me to this book. It’s the deep meanings hidden beneath. Through various characters met by the Little Prince, Saint-Exupéry asks us to reflect upon life’s big questions: What does it mean to really see? Why do we often fail to notice what counts most? And perhaps most importantly, what constitutes love and loss?

On this deserted island, The Little Prince would be a combination of consolation and cause for self-reflection. It is ancient wisdom that will guide me to my past in order to remind me of the simple things of beauty and how I should live every second as though it was my last. And with each reading, like hidden jewels in the sand, other levels of meaning will emerge.

However, what if one day I got tired of this particular friend? Would the charm of The Little Prince lose its ability to captivate me anymore, making me wish for a different book? That’s a thought, but I have an easy response. Just like a well-loved memory or song, The Little Prince is something that seems outside time or space limitations. This has nothing to do with newness, but rather the familiar faces — whereby returning back after exploring boundaries such as those of imagination and love becomes so cozy.

Juxtaposing the idea of being stranded on an uninhabited island, I cannot but acknowledge the peculiar challenges that my neurodiversity would impose. Since I have anxiety, there are times when the overload of information from the present world can prove to be overwhelming. However, within a peaceful paradise-like setting absent of external pressures in which anxiety and fatigue often get triggered, it is possible to imagine finding tranquility and equilibrium.

In the silence of this island, my heightened sensitivity to texture, sound and emotion may become strengths rather than barriers. Walking on the beach and listening to its sounds would make me feel happier with every coming wave. Also if I plunge into The Little Prince, I might come across new levels of empathy and comprehension beyond language or convention.

Ultimately, the scenario of being left alone on a deserted island with only one book for company is suited to introspection and imagination. A thought experiment like this pushes me to face my worst fears and desires, letting me see what really matters.

For me, however, I know I would take hold of The Little Prince as if my life depended upon it so that its pages could console, advise and keep me company.

--

--

Kageno
The Penny Pub

Knowing what it feels like to be in pain, is exactly why we try to be kind to others.